The workshop has been organized under the leadership of NTHMP MMS co-chairs Kara Gately and Rick Wilson. Partial funding of the workshop has been provided to the California Geology Survey through an NTHMP Grant provided by NOAA/National Weather Service. Patrick Lynett is responsible for organizing the technical components of the benchmark problems, and for assisting in the workshop planning. In addition, all members of the MMS have contributed to the selection of the benchmark problems.